The Village of Holden derived its name from the late Mr. J.B. Holden, the first M.L.A. in the constituency for the Province. There were few settlers in the area before 1902. By 1903, the community was starting to be settled with the name Pleasant Ridge chosen. The Village of Holden was formally incorporated as a village on April 14, 1909.
Holden is situated on fairly flat land with wide streets, sidewalks and some paved roads. Homes are well kept and numerous new homes have been built.
Experience the charm of country living when visiting Holden. There is a lot to see in Holden. One can view the Beaver Regional Arts Centre, a museum with a large array of historical items, and the elaborate Holy Ghost Ukrainian Church where tours can be arranged.